Multiplatform Fashion Journalism – an insight

With a course that allows me to develop my current writing skills and adapt them for a range of audiences, studying ‘fashion journalism’ from September filled me with both excitement and nerves – a new place, new people and new opportunities. Through the first couple of units I honed my skills, particularly in the ‘Fashion Writer’ section where I’ve discovered my preferences for writing pieces such as features, profiles and blog posts. I’ve always read other people’s blogs and attempted to start my own and this unit helped drive my passion for blogging, across free sites such as WordPress and Blogger.

Screen Shot 2016-02-16 at 13.51.24

Screen Shot 2016-02-16 at 13.52.37.png
My Instagram platform – used for the promotion of blog posts

 

 

During the ‘Multi-platform Fashion Journalism’ unit I’m looking to develop these skills further. Combined with photography this semester, I’m hoping I can make a conscious effort to improve my blogging style and image quality in order to improve the standard of content for my readers, and also post better images on my social media platforms such as Instagram or Tumblr. Through learning more about platforms used for journalism I’m hoping that I can use them to promote and grow my blog as a ‘brand’.

I know that it’s essential that I develop my skills across a wide range of fields such as podcasting and vlogging, particularly if I want to break into the industry and get a job straight off the bat. I need to make myself a well-rounded journalist who can adapt to a number of roles and I can do this by developing and gaining more experience in these areas I am lacking knowledge in.

– Chlo x

Leave a comment